Cerebellar cortex nerve cell types

Cerebellar cortical neurons

The cerebellar cortex is thought to contain at least 7(seven!) different types of neurons:

1. Golgi cells /Golgi neuron

2. Basket cells

3. Barley cells/ granular neurons

4. Lugaro cells/ Lugaro neuron

5. Purkinje cells/ Purkinje neuron

6. Star cells/ Stellate neurons

7. UBC / Brush Cells (Unipolar Brush Cells)

F.J. Geurts, E. De Schutter and S. Dieudonné: Unraveling the cerebellar cortex: cytology and cellular physiology of large-sized interneurons in the granular layer. Cerebellum 2: 290 - 299 (2003)